Skip to content

The Doctor’s Role In Opiate Addiction

March 25, 2013
A whole galaxy of multi-colored uppers, downers...

A whole galaxy of multi-colored uppers, downers… (Photo credit: ep_jhu)

I was in Lockport this morning fighting for a new MRI since my last one is two years old, the insurance company claims that I’m in the “palative care” stage and a new MRI isn’t conducive to my condition and neither is physical therapy…made me feel like I was dying or something, but among all the legal mumbo jumbo I heard in there somewhere that I won! Well, I will receive 12 sessions of physical therapy prior to my surgery and a new MRI for the surgery.

As I waited for the courtroom drama to unfold, I thought about how I arrived here. I remembered the first tear of a script off the doctor’s little grey pad six years ago. I remember him handing it to me, I remember thinking, “jackpot, everybody’s taking these, I can make some money,” never did it cross my mind to take hydrocodone. In fact I did try one and it made me sick. I stuck to my Motrin 800, not for long though. People all around me were nodding out and I wanted to feel like that, I wanted to go to sleep and forget about it all.

The doctor sent me to pain management, they gave me Oxycodones, muscle relaxers, it was a legal drug dealer and I was slowly destroying my life and had know idea what was happening. So I thought what it that first doctor had asked me? What if they had some sort of screening, or a session with a counselor before prescribing narcotics. I would have found them eventually anyway I guess. I just think that if he had somehow checked a bit he would have seen a pattern developing, I had already been hospitalized once for a psych eval, I had been arrested three times in a month and a half six months before he wrote that script, all alcohol related charges, he clearly would have seen that over almost the course of a 9 month period I was rapidly deteriating.

I just had a little time on my hands in the waiting room before my hearing and thought I’d share my thoughts.

From → My Story, Recovery

6 Comments
  1. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?

    My site discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

    Like

    • Thank you and yes I would be interested. I have been neglecting my blog lately, I’ve been busy with some new fronts here in my community activating for methadone clients and suboxone clients by starting some new meetings and getting some things rolling in the supportive living houses. I would be interested though, let me know the details.

      Like

  2. I need to to thank you for this very good read!!
    I absolutely loved every bit of it. I have got you bookmarked
    to check out new stuff you post…

    Like

  3. This piece of writing offers clear idea in support of the
    new people of blogging, that truly how to do running a blog.

    Like

  4. I seldom create remarks, however after looking at
    a bunch of comments on The Doctors Role In Opiate Addiction |
    Journey Through Recovery. I do have 2 questions for
    you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or does it look like some
    of these comments appear like they are written by brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are writing on additional places, I’d like to keep up with you.
    Could you list of every one of your social networking pages
    like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    Like

  5. I wonder, are these some sort of hacks? like people spamming our comments? I only check my wordpress once in awhile these days but every time I do I seem to see the same general comments that seem to be like spamming or something.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

