Skip to content

How To Meditate? Meditation for Beginners

May 13, 2013

If you are new to prayer and meditation I have provided a link to a youtube video.  This video works best with headphones to eliminate outside distractions.  Try to write down anything that is bothering you or distracting you, you can deal with it after you meditate.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUQCdWMi024&feature=share&list=PLUmojn1V_xI0kgvlpanl2sy1jMn3Ufki7

Make sure you are comfortable, I sit with my legs crossed and I place my hands, palms up on my thighs.  Then, I touch my thumb to my middle finger on both of my hands.  It will look like a circle, like an “OK” symbol upside down.  While you are relaxing and meditating you can concentrate on the circle you created between your thumb and middle finger.  You may feel a power, electrical type of sensation flowing through that circle, go with it.  Later, you can research this power and what it means but for now, as a beginner, just use it to focus your attention, feel it’s warmth and the sensation of its circular motion.  Then follow the woman’s voice and allow her to guide you through this meditation.  It’s absolutely perfect for beginners, it’s only 7 minutes long, her voice is the perfect sound or tone, the background music is balanced well and not distracting.  I urge you to follow through on this every morning.

I use this video daily but I continue to meditate beyond the video and I also drift off now into my own garden with my own mirror image of myself.  She touches my face sometimes and whispers to me different things.  She used to have books stacked up next her that I assumed represented my future published books, a symbol of success.  Those books slowly have disappeared each morning and I now realize that success is not based on materialistic accomplishments.  It comes from within, once you learn to love yourself and find peace within yourself then all things are possible.  I firmly believe that no matter how much or how little you have, it has nothing to do with true peace and happiness.

I meditate several times a day now.  I begin my day in prayer and meditation and end my day in prayer and meditation.  My evening meditation is very different from my morning meditation.  In this video I have become more and more like the woman in my garden.  I even wear the same dress or clothing that she does.  The clothing she wore when I started were things I did not have the courage to wear outside of the house but that I loved.  I now wear those clothes and on most morning both she and I are wearing the same clothes.

My mirror image was also untouchable in the beginning  now we hug and she touches my face as she sends me a sort of telepathic message of what I need to do for the day to get closer to pure serenity, happiness and enlightenment.  I use the video every morning to assist me in getting into meditation mode.  I turn the volume down a bit and once I am fully relaxed I flow into the garden, meet myself and talk to her then I go with it, I go further each day past the seven or eight minutes of the guided meditation.

It did not take long for me to be able to do this.  There are many guided meditations on youtube but be careful because you want to use one that is not distracting.  You need a calm, gentle voice with pleasant  relaxing background music, again, that is not distracting or too loud.  For example I have found some guided meditation videos where the flowing or babbling brook is babbling louder then the person talking and all I can focus on is how annoying it is.  I searched for a long time for the perfect meditation video to begin meditating with and I believe this is it.  It is also very short, it is about seven minutes long.  It is perfect for beginners.

Enjoy it, grow from it, continue on with it and learn from it. Blessed be!

From → My Story, Recovery

15 Comments
  1. http://lovelyseasonscomeandgo.wordpress.com
    What a wonderful post, thanks for the link to you tube, I really enjoyed it a great deal. I would love to reblog this post too, but with your permission first. Please let me know if its ok. Have a great day.

    Like

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed reading your post, Anyone who wants to learn how to meditate can use your tips to for guidance. Wonderful job amylong1933

    Like

    • Thank you so much, I love sharing as I learn. I think it’s so important to share about our experiences, what worked for us and others and what did not. There’s no need for unnecessary suffering. We are all universally connected and therefore my neighbor’s pain is my pain.

      Like

  3. Hey there! I’ve been following your site for a long time now and finally
    got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Tx!
    Just wanted to say keep up the good work!

    Like

    • Thank you!! 2013 rocked!! the ups & the downs, learned alot, still truckin!! love & light!

      Like

    • Thank you! I’m sorry I didn’t see your comment, I’ve been trying to keep up, a little overwhelming this blogging fun! Currently I’m working a little closer to home advocating for methadone and suboxone clients and organizing community service events for recovering addicts to get together and clean up our community while sending a message, “we are not junkies, we are worth saving! we live, work and raise our kids here and live productive lives!” So I”ve been neglecting my blog I’m ashamed to say, I don’t have much time lately to write but I’m trying to walk the walk and find time and balance my life!

      Like

  4. Hello i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere,
    when i read this post i thought i could also make comment due
    to this good paragraph.

    Like

  5. Really when someone doesn’t understand afterward its up
    to other users that they will help, so here it occurs.

    Like

  6. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an impatience over that you wish be delivering the
    following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again
    since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you so much for the link to my post! Greatly appreciated!

    Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Meditation For Beginners

What are your thoughts?

