Skip to content

CONFESSION OF A HEROINE ADDICT (A Reply to “Addiction”)

May 18, 2013

A beautiful friendship is blossoming I think, from two people from opposites sides of the fence…

It's Okay To Believe

I woke up this morning and checked my blog.  There was this comment from someone who had read the original poem I wrote called “Addiction” I wanted to thank that blogger for her honest words and decided to share it with you and others.

“I am a recovering heroin addict and I can tell you that nothing, absolutely nothing could get me clean except me…not my family, my kids, nothing. It is an awful, deadly disease. It is pure evil whispering into your ear. It has to be fought every day for the rest of your life but a better life is possible and the addict unfortunately cannot see that until they hit their rock bottom and ask for help. I am so very sorry for what you are going through. I have been on both sides so I know how you feel, wanting desperately for them to get clean…

View original post 256 more words

From → My Story, Recovery

5 Comments
  1. There is nothing more inspiring for me, than people who have the courage to ‘take off the mask.”
    Thank you.

    Like

    • Thank you, I just want people to know what worked for me and what didn’t or even stop someone from picking up in the first place. Or help a loved one by giving them some answers, I don’t know if it helps but it definitely keeps me clean by trying to reach out.

      Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “A Better Life” Author Bio~ Amy McCalister | A Path To Recovery
  2. “A Better Life: Tips From A Recovering Heroin Addict” a book by Amy McCalister | A Path To Recovery
  3. Discrimination Against Recovering Addicts ~By The Doctors Who Prescribed Them The Drugs In The First Place | A Path To Recovery

What are your thoughts?

