Skip to content

“A Better Life” Author Bio~ Amy McCalister

May 21, 2013

jan 2013 187My name is Amy and I am a recovering heroin addict.  I am originally from Ransomville, New York where I grew up on a 120 acre working farm and I come from an upper class family of fairly well to do business owners and a good family.  I left when I was 15 years old, it was a mutual understanding.  I became pregnant with my daughter at 18, by 24 I was married with three kids, in school and working as a counselor for at-risk kids.  At 30 my life was turned upside down.  I had lived a pretty normal life for almost 11 years in Youngstown, New York and was about to start my final semester in Graduate School.  My husband left and I began to drink my life away but somehow managed to graduate with honors from my Master’s degree program in Education with a concentration in School Counseling.  That license was taken away before I even finished school I think, I don’t really remember.  Then, 6 months later my father died.  I watched him die for over a month as he lay in a coma at 74, my hero, my daddy.  My decent into hell began to spiral out of control.  I was prescribed my first script of opiates after a injury.  Doctors kept feeding more powerful painkillers and I kept abusing them.  It was not long before my scripts were running out and I was buying pills off the street.  Interacting with dealers and users, it was just a matter of time before I was a full blown IV drug addict.  Today I am clean, I cannot promise I will be clean tomorrow, I don’t worry about that anymore, I am clean today and that’s all that really matters.

What are your thoughts?

