Skip to content

Dear Heroin

May 22, 2013

Dear heroin,

You ruined my life.  You took everything from me, you made me feel good, then you made me think I could lean you.  You tricked me andamy shattered2 made me need you.  You made me obsess about you.  You made me love no one else, not even myself, just you.

Dear heroin,

I love you, I hate you, look what you’ve done to me.  You stole my family, my kids, my home and even my dog.  You drained me of everything I ever loved.  You made me into a shell, a hollow person just me and you inside.

Dear heroin,

I win, I thought you beat me, I thought I could never live without you but guess what heroin, I’d beat you. You can’t have me anymore and I have an army of fight inside of me.  You can’t hurt me anymore.  I loved you but it’s over now. I have had a taste of something better, sweeter. Back off dragon, I will never let you fly me into hell again.

Goodbye heroin, never again.

10 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Scarred 4 Life and commented:
    Reblogged and dedicated to the ones i love who don’t love me.

    Like

  2. Penny Hartman permalink

    You showed it it was’nt going to win and it did’nt. I am very proud of you.

    Like

  3. jackiewellington21 permalink

    I AM SO PROUD OF YOU….I CRIED WHEN I READ THAT POEM AND I AM TRULY GLAD THAT WE WILL BECOME FRIENDS. I ALSO HAVE A MASTER’S DEGEREE. THAT IS WHY NO ONE KNEW I HAD A PROBLEM BECAUSE I WAS TOO SMART TO BE AN ADDICT. IF ONLY THEY KNEW. I KNEW!

    Like

    • I know it was actually my biggest problem, being educated, being able to manipulate counselors and health care providers, sitting in meetings thinking I was smarter then everyone there and there was no way I belonged with them. I felt superior because I had a master’s degree. Nothing could be further from the truth. I am a junkie. I am a recovering junkie but I am a junkie and i am the same as everyone esle who suffers from the disease of addiction. We may be at different levels in recovery but we are all sick trying to get better. I’m sorry I made you cry, but I am glad that you identified. Thanks so much for reading, ~Amy~

      Like

      • jackiewellington21 permalink

        Thanks for sharing. It is greatly appreciated.

        Like

  4. That was so beautiful… It actually made me cry.
    I don’t even know what to say.


    Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Your welcome, it’s a letter I wrote 3 years ago when I decided to leave that life. I did return, I relapsed last year in June and climbed back out in September and found this letter. It always reminds me of were I could be without a program of recovery.

      Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “A Better Life: Tips From A Recovering Heroin Addict” a book by Amy McCalister | A Path To Recovery

What are your thoughts?

