Skip to content

A Better Life: Full Introduction

May 25, 2013

Introduction

Let’s jump right in; this is a life or death situation after all.  My name is Amy and I am a recovering heroin addict.  Recovery was offered to me through

A Better Life: Tips From A Recovering Heroin Addict by Amy McCalister

A Better Life: Tips From A Recovering Heroin Addict by Amy McCalister

other recovering addicts, reading books on recovery and most importantly the lessons I have learned through Narcotics Anonymous and life experience.  I combined all of these experiences together and wrote this book for myself.  That’s right, for me.  I had a detailed account and a reference guide to return to over and over again whenever I needed help.  Then I sent it to be edited by my grandmother, Dorothy Farmiloe, a published author, poet and retired English professor from Ontario, Canada.  She insisted I publish the manuscript and that the world had a right to this information.  She was right, I am a selfish person by nature, a defect I try to work on and a common characteristic among addicts.

I began to edit the book and try to make it user friendly for everyone.  You will see throughout the book I have tried to link certain words or programs to a specific page on a website so you do not have to navigate around or waste time searching for more information on something.  I am new at this so I hope that it is a useful tool for you.  It also helped to have a master’s degree in counseling while I was writing unfortunately later on it actually hindered my recovery and contributed to a very vicious relapse.

Do you think you are an addict?  Do you think your loved one is an addict?  What is the difference between recreational use and addiction?  In Narcotics Anonymous there is a free IP called “Am I An Addict?”  It is available online and I have linked it, click on it and it will take you directly to the IP and there are some yes or no questions you should take a look at.  I is also available in the NA Blue Book.

I knew I was an addict I just did not want to get clean.  When I hit rock bottom and I was ready told everyone I was getting clean.  It helps to tell everyone, whether they believe you or not.  Some may even laugh at you, some maliciously, others thinking you are joking.  Telling people that you love and care about, especially those whose approval is important to you such as a parent, brother or sister or maybe even children, is a great motivator in helping you to stay clean.  Stop for a moment though and think.  It may be a motivator to get you going but hurting them did not stop you from using, do not think that they alone will stop you from using again, it helps to tell on yourself about getting clean, about slipping up, about behaviors and things you have done wrong even while you are not actively using.

Telling people you are going to quit is a suggestion I heard when I tried to quit smoking.  The reason is simple, if we fail; we disappoint our loved ones.  This may help in moments of weakness to prevent you from picking up when the urge hits you and then you can use relapse prevention tools.  One idea, technique or belief is not enough to keep you clean you have to understand that to be successful in recovery.  For example, I did not want to disappoint my kids, that has stopped me many times but it was not enough.  I had to go further because even though the thought of hurting them stopped me for a second.  It would not have stopped me for long if I did not have other ways to prevent me from using.  The obsessive thought process has begun, the urge to use is there, suspended for a brief moment so you do not disappoint someone.  You have to move fast into your relapse prevention tools or the compulsion to use can drive you to do it.  Loved ones had no influence over me whatsoever during active addiction or my relapse.  To think that they alone would stop me from using again would be setting myself up for a relapse, it would only be a matter of time.  I do not mean to sound heartless or cruel it is just a reality of addiction.  I am not saying that it would not work for someone one else, all I can say is I have never witnessed that happening and I do not know or heard of anyone who has.  I am saying that for myself and everyone I know the only person that they can stay clean for is themselves.

If you have people in your life that have faith in you and are willing to help you great, they are the beginning of your support network.  Ask them for their help, you are going to need them.  If you do not have people in your life anymore you can still build a support network.  Think of it as it was explained to me.  People who cannot or will not help were removed from my life to make room for those who will.  Remember though, only you can stay clean and stop yourself from picking up.

Ask yourself these questions, do you want to get clean and stay clean?  Are you willing to do whatever it takes to get clean? Is there anything preventing you from surrendering completely to your recovery?  Can you start today?  In Narcotics Anonymous there is a free IP called “Am I An Addict?”  It is available online and I have linked it, click on it and it will take you directly to the IP and there are some yes or no questions you should take a look at.

If you are ready then prepare to be uncomfortable for the first week or so, in some cases extremely physically ill and in need of medical attention depending on your drug(s) of choice.  My drugs of choice were heroin and crack cocaine.   Crack may not have had many physical withdraw symptoms but what it was to me was highly addictive and mentally addictive.  Heroin is physically and mentally addictive with some very severe withdraw symptoms such as vomiting, diarrhea, hot and cold chills, fever, aches, pains and seizures.   Withdraw can be very dangerous and even deadly.  I have watched many people go through withdraw, I have helped people make it through withdraw but by far the very worst I have ever seen in my life was the “DTs,” alcohol withdraw.  Then I felt the withdraw from opiates and benzodiazepines.  I had two seizures, I could not eat, sleep and I felt like I had a super flu.

This will be one of the most difficult things but she will do in your life.  Take it one day at a time, slow and steady. Use this book to guide you through each day.  Stay in the moment and do not think about tomorrow and do not think about the past.  Soon you will start to feel better; you look forward to getting out of bed in the morning.  You will have energy and enjoy things again.   Remember slow and steady, this is not a race this is life or death, this is a journey.

Next write a letter to your addiction.  This activity will help you identify with your addiction, say goodbye and it will help give you closure.  You are saying farewell to the part of your life that the addiction stole.  You are doing this by writing a “Dear John” letter.  Some say it feels like losing a family member when they quit using drugs.

When I finally broke down, I needed my boyfriend to help me throw out all my “works.”  He sat on the bathroom floor with me and helps me dispose of all the needles properly.  Throughout the process I cried hysterically and hugged him.  He assured me everything woods going to be all right, I rocked back and forth holding my knees and crying.  We sat there on the bathroom floor smashing crack pipes and throwing out needles and the worst part was they had been sitting in my safe for over a month.  I was too afraid to open the safe, I’d been clean for over 30 days, it’s supposed to be one of the first things you do when you get clean, get rid of the “works.”   I found out later it was a reservation  I had in my program which is a subconscious thing you do or hang onto to reserve a place for relapse.

Here is an example of the letter I wrote, it does not have to be as dramatic, just write what and how you feel about your addiction and say goodbye:

Dear heroin,

You ruined my life.  You took everything from me, you made me feel good, then you made me think I could lean you.  You tricked me and made me need you.  You made me obsess about you.  You made me love no one else, not even myself, just you.

Dear heroin,

I love you, I hate you, look what you’ve done to me.  You stall my family, my kids, my home and even my dog.  You drained me of everything I ever loved.  You made me into a shell, a hollow person just me and you inside.

Dear heroin,

I win, I thought you beat me, I thought I could live without you can’t guess what heroin, I’d be you. You can’t have me anymore and I have an army of fight and me.  You can’t hurt me anymore.  I loved you but it’s over now.

Goodbye heroin, never again.

I said what I needed to say and said goodbye.  I read it to my family and friends.  I read it in my treatment groups, to my counselor, and most of all to myself.

There are other alternatives to quitting cold Turkey for opiate addiction.  Withdraw from these drugs can be very dangerous.  There is method on weekends treatment, suboxone and subutex treatments, and medical detox. I feel a combination of treatment is most effective.  A variety of treatments or treatment programs are available.  Recovery is a long process, there is no cure, it is not a race, it is a journey and it is a way of life.

Methadone is an intensive outpatient program monitored by the state and Health Care providers.  Most methadone programs require the client to go every day, participate in group therapy, one and one counseling and random drug testing.  After a certain amount of clean time the client is eligible for privileges such as reduced time at the clinic.  The client is give and take home doses, required to go to less groups, and required to see their counselor less.  The client must demonstrate a certain level of need as well to receive these privileges, such as if the client is employed were doing volunteer work, also if they are involved in self-help.

There’s also suboxone maintenance treatment where the patient has monitored by a Physician who prescribes the suboxone to relieve the physical withdraw from opiates and control the cravings of drugs such as heroin and prescription pain medication.  The patient is usually required to seek outside counseling as well.  They are also required to submit to random drug testing.  They are required to report to the physician once every two weeks.  After some level of success they only report once a month.

Unfortunately there are waiting lists for these programs.  Pregnant women or those with HIV are admitted to the program immediately.  Methadone has been studied for years especially the effects on pregnant women and the unborn fetus.  The risk is minimal but once the child is born they may suffer some withdrawal and need to be hospitalized.

Suboxone and methadone treatments are sometimes considered replacing one drug for another by the recovering community like alcoholics anonymous and narcotics anonymous.  Everyone has different opinions and every person is different.  One program can work wonders for one person and as a disaster for another.

There are other medical programs to assist patients with the withdrawing off of drugs and alcohol.  These programs help relieve the uncomfortable withdraw symptoms.  Ask your doctor or counselor what your options are and what is available to you.  You can also do your own research on different treatment programs.

It is a personal choice whether to go medically or cold Turkey.  Keep in mind that cold Turkey can be very dangerous and you should consult a Dr. Before considering this option. It all depends on your tolerance and amount of drugs you are taking.

In this book their tools needed to deal with the addiction but it is up to you to accept responsibility for your recovery.  These are the building blocks you need to start a healthy sober lifestyle.  We will take a look at and reevaluate your values and beliefs, building a support network, your role and responsibility, your self esteem and self worth, goal setting, healthy choices, getting active, awareness, motivation, and your achievement of short term goals.

Mind body and soul check: allow yourself to cry.  It is said what has happened and this is not going to be easy.  It is scary, frustrating and going to see a great deal of willpower.  So, cry, get it out, sadness is a normal human emotion and what you are going through right now is difficult.  I suggest you write about your feelings and talk to another recovering addict or loved one.

A Better Life: Tips From Recovering Heroin Addict By Amy McCalister is now available on amazon.com and the following link will take you directly to the book ~

http://www.amazon.com/Better-Life-Recovering-Heroin-ebook/dp/B00CYEPJIS/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1369477358&sr=1-1&keywords=a+better+life+tips+from+a+recovering+heroin+addict

All feedback is encouraged! Please feel free to contact me or comment on your reviews  and opinions of the book.

29 Comments
  1. helnbak permalink

    I am really shocked there are waiting lists for opiate addiction treatment in the US, that is terrible. Once you make a decision you need help you need it straight away. Here you are usually started within a couple of days, but you don’t have to attend meetings every day, you just have to collect from the chemist everyday, but once you give clean screens you can get it weekly, the same with Suboxone. You usually review your script once a month with the doctor and they encourage you to access counselling which is free. Maybe this keeps waiting times down? it was important for me because I didn’t want my life to be dominated by my methadone script, to be able to have a ‘normal’ existence for a while and not feel that the doctors were controlling my life instead of the drug dealers. Just a point of interest, as it’s scary to not be able to get a script when you need one and methadone is very cheap as a drug after all!

    Like

    • Wow, that would be great. I was just thinking about it on my way to methadone this morning which is about a 40 mile drive there and back everyday plus the tolls which is $1 each way. It comes out to be about $10 a day just to travel to methadone in Buffalo, NY. Then some have to pay $6 a day plus $6 for every group they attend there. If they mandate you to 5 groups a week then its $72 a week for the program and $70 a week for traveling there. As I paid the $1 toll I was thinking about how expensive it is, and it takes anywhere from an hour to two hours of my day depending if I have group or counseling or have to see the doctor or something. It is dominating my life and doctors are dominating my life. Suboxone is different, you go in every two weeks to a month but it does nothing for my pain. I relapsed last summer when I detoxed off of methadone and started the suboxone program. It was terrible. I was in so much pain, I was so sick, all I could think of was getting a fix. One time, that’s all it took. I convinced myself that I had to in order to control my pain. The doctor who was prescribing me the suboxones went to jail a month later so I was really screwed. I called to get back into methadone and they said it would be 6-8 months wait. I called all 3 clinics in the area and one would not even take my name, one said 6-8 months and the other (the one I’m in) said they would see what they could do but it would be at least 4-5 months. I used that as an excuse and was using everyday because eventually I would be back in methadone. I did not even call every week like you are supposed to in order to keep your spot on the waiting list. by the end of August I had had enough, I called every week and they got me in a month later on September 27th and I was clean a week and a half later. So I know what will happen if I get off methadone again but I can’t think about it right now, I have to understand that I’m sick and I have to treat my disease everyday. I would rather drive back and forth to buffalo everyday then to go back to that nightmare hell I was living in!

      Like

      • helnbak permalink

        Definately you have to stick at it, but it’s so wrong they do that, I can’t believe you have to pay all that. Not many people would stick at it here if it wasn’t free we are spoiled with the NHS! My boyfriend was the same with suboxone, he couldn’t stick at it at all it made him really ill and depressed. Some people I know get morphine sulphate and in some areas they prescribe diamorphine but it is really hard to get. They trialed it and it was really successful but they never put it in place which I think is so wrong.
        Have you ever checked out INPUD (International Network for People who Use Drugs), they are a really good campaigning organisation. Also Black Poppy magazine in the UK have done some really good articles, they would very probably be interested in your writing, well worth getting in touch with them. It’s something that the US government should really change; after all people in treatment are less likely to commit crime, die and affect their families, it’s worth their while to make sure people can access quick and free treatment, regardless of their income. It’s outrageous really; I can’t believe I was kicking off the other day about having to do three times weekly pickup from the chemist and i get a free script, I will now be a lot more grateful for this. (I don’t like doctors to think they are too in control anyway, it’s too much power for them!)

        Like

      • Wow! completely free regardless of income??? You only pick up 3 times a week??? You need like a year clean before you can get that here! And you have to be in complete compliance with the program, groups, counseling plus linked with outside mental health, no legal issues, no trouble like loitering or coming to early to the clinic, nothing absolutely no bad things for 90 days inside or out of the clinic and then you have to have a job, volunteer or do a lot of self help and prove you need to have take home doses and can’t come every day or else you don’t get your take homes and you have to start your 90 days all over again if you screw up one thing. There’s no incentive though if you don’t have a job or volunteer because even if you do if it does not interfere with clinic hours then you don’t get a take home because take home doses are “privileges”

        Like

  2. helnbak permalink

    In fact Black Poppy wrote a really good article in their last edition about successful diamorphine trials in the UK which were never rolled out nationwide, they would be worth googling as there is some great writing in there by addicts who campaign and creative writing.

    Like

    • Thanks, I really want to check it out! I really want to get on a plane and live in the UK now too! Sounds like your country is so much more advanced in treating addiction, we’re in the stone ages over here! My kids are getting older and we’re getting our passports in order to do some volunteer work in some other countries through these different programs. We want to move out of this area but out of the country would be better! Now that I’m published and working on developing my writing, if it does anything for us we are going to pack up and leave. One good thing about the methadone programs is we can transfer to other states and guest dose in other cities nation wide for awhile if we want to move then they would admitted us after a month or so. I don’t know what we’re going to do but I do not want to stay in Niagara Falls, NY…It’s awful, I’m from the country outside of the Falls about 20 mins away and you can even smell the chemicals when it rains out there but here it’s like in my back yard, literally two blocks away and the wind will kick up and it smells awful, like raw sewage. There’s a treatment plant two blocks from my house that is on the Niagara River and it is fenced off for like 10 blocks, it’s huge and it’s awful! When it rains it’s really bad. I walk my dogs down to the American Falls/Niagara Falls almost everyday and at least it’s not as bad down there, it smells fresh, I love the woods and the water and there’s these islands you can walk out on, and go off the trails and down into these little coves with calm water then like 6 feet out are these crazy white rapids that would rip you away in a second, you wouldn’t have a chance, it’s like 50 yards from the top of the falls, it’s awesome!

      Like

      • helnbak permalink

        I think that’s shocking – is that about ‘treatment’ or about ‘compliance’?; I would say the later. That is treating you as if you are some sort of criminal that needs getting in line, not someone who’s made a mistake and needs help, it is BAD. It’s like a ball and chain around your ankle. You need to write about this to Black Poppy and INPUD they will be interested!
        I think the government here know people would be dropping all over the place here as people wouldn’t follow it and they are desperate to keep people in treatment. It’s in their interests!
        You get free treatment here you just have to pay a prescription charge of £7.85 for each prescription if you are in work, which I’m not now. This is why we have to keep the National Health Service, it’s so important and the Conservative government here are eroding it.
        Yes, living somewhere beautiful really helps, I left Sheffield a month ago as I knew I wouldn’t get on top of my habit there and since I’ve been in Cornwall I’ve felt a lot better, but it’s my spiritual home. Well if you come here you’d better look me up! You would probably have to pay something for NHS treatment here but I don’t think it’s a fortune is worth finding out.
        Yes, it’s really interesting about the diamorphine trial as (and this is telling about heroin addiction), they found that when they gave people a couple of ampoules a day of diamorphine to inject, they were obviously chuffed to bits so start off with, but after a time they simply gradually gave up – it wasn’t exciting anymore, once you took out the running about, scoring, preparing it, wondering when you were going to get some more etc etc….the buzz was gone. So there you have it – they should have done it nationwide but they would rather hand out cheap methadone which people always use on top of, and have a nightmare coming off, than admit it’s better to just give people safe, pure heroin, which they then get sick of anyway bizarrely! Addiction is a very complex thing.

        Like

      • It is such a complex issue and I am so glad I found you/you me! This is exactly how we are treated here, methadone is used as a “reward” and if you keep testing dirty (we are drug tested every week) then they drop your dose and keep dropping it until you comply, if you don’t, they kick you out. The problem here is prescription Benzos, they feel it is a deadly combo so even if you have a legal script for anxiety or panic attacks they won’t approve it and you are considered “non compliant” if you continue to use your legal script. I am going to write to Black Poppy and INPUD. I know there are other countries in Europe that actually give out heroin as treatment??? My therapist just told me. I am shocked, I need to research this more, I want to know how they do this in other states in the US and Canada, Mexico, and then Europe and compare there stats on what works. Our clinic is very strict, there are cameras everywhere, its fenced in, cops and security guards, and not to protect them from being robbed it’s to keep the clients in control. You are not allowed to arrived more than 15 mins earlier then your scheduled group time or meeting or you are considered “loitering.” If it’s just a regular dosing day you cannot stop and say hi to a friend in the hall, keep it moving or you are loitering. No phones, no visitors even if you want to have a family counseling session like my old clinic used to allow with special permission and notification of the director. Any form of non compliance is grounds for termination. I have to meet with the doctor on Thursday for Benzo use from a month ago that I don’t take anymore, never had refilled because I was having horrible panic attacks and ended up having a mild heart attack. I learned to control my panic attacks with alternative methods. Never went back to the doctor who prescribed the Benzos (Klonilpins) because I knew the clinic would not approve them anyway. I have had panic attacks since but they are not as bad as they used to be. Still I’m at risk of getting my dose dropped by the doctor on Thursday or even discharged and detoxed off of methadone for having a legal prescription that I did not even take the full amount prescibed each day and it never showed up on my drug tests, that’s because I only took them when I felt stressed, or anxious, I was supposed to take 3 a day, I took a half a one if that. It’s ridiculous here. I almost want to give up and throw in the towel if it wasn’t for my kids I would.

        Like

      • helnbak permalink

        Don’t throw in the towel, you are obviously a very strong lady – remember people survive concentration camps, that’s what I try and think. Methadone is so cheap, you can get it for next to nothing in other countries. It’s fascinating and shocking what you’ve written and I’m going to share it, my friends will be shocked. I’ve found you on facebook. If you can come to the UK I will absolutely help you to find somewhere cheap to live as best I can, and show you beautiful places! I’ll be in touch on facebook. (Helen Jane)

        Like

      • Wonderful! No I wouldn’t throw in the towel but sometimes it gets so frustrating! I’ll look for your friend request on facebook, so glad we met!

        Like

  3. helnbak permalink

    …and the people in power are universally stupid.

    Like

    • Agreed! Are you on Facebook? You can find me under Amy Long, my maiden name. My profile picture is black and white, the background is an oriental landscape with strong reds, etc. I believe if you search for me it will say Niagara Falls, NY underneath my name. Just wondering because we can send private messages, instant message, etc.

      Like

    • I would love to come and check it out over there! That would be an absolute dream come true!

      Like

  4. helnbak permalink

    …Just responding about the fact that they could stop your script because you didn’t use the full amount of benzos, Did I get that right? I can’t believe that – it amounts to enforced medicating. This is what worries me with the doctors here, because there have been cases of them refusing to reduce scripts or putting them up when people stop using til they get to ridiculous doses. Also threatening to stop a prescription outright because you aren’t ‘complying’ with them is really wrong and dangerous; prescriptions shouldn’t be used as a way of keeping people ‘under the thumb’, it’s so wrong. You should definately write about your experience, people will be interested and it’s a campaigning issue.
    I really hope they don’t stop your script, but I find with doctors you can’t let them bully you at the same time, you do get some megalomaniacs in there! Be assertive and remember what you have achieved recently, it’s fantastic for someone who is early in recovery; think where you’ll be in a few months. One foot in front of the other you’ll get there; they can’t stop your script you are doing so well.

    Like

    • No they can’t stop your methadone if you do not use your full script of benzos but they can stop it if you use a script of benzos that the methadone doctor doesn’t approve. If methadone says you cannot take a legal prescription that was prescribed from another doctor they can kick you off if you continue to use the script such as benzos. So you have to make a choice between either your pysch meds/anxiety meds or methadone but the methadone doctor won’t let you do both, some people he will but if you are told you are not approved to take your legal prescription of benzons and you continue to take them anyway they will drop your dose down 10-20 milligrams and if you still won’t comply they will continue to drop your dose and eventually kick you out…and i’m not talking about illegal script meds you buy off the street, I’m talking about an actual legal current prescription from another doctor.

      Like

      • helnbak permalink

        That is absolutely shocking, it’s enough to make anyone relapse just the pressure! Surely if a doctor prescribes you something then you’ve had a medical opinion that you need it. You can’t get kicked off a script here for using anything legal or illegal, they just make you pick up everyday. Lucky or I would never have lasted the first day! However, a vast amount of people use on top of methadone, and end up having the dose put up and up. I was lucky to have a lovely nurse who let me give not clean screens and take home weekly; because I felt under less pressure I felt that I was in control, not the doctor, which is empowering and it helped me get there under my own steam. I’m doing a residential detox off 20ml in a few weeks.
        Anyway, I reckon you’ve got a story! I gave you a big up on facebook for your book but I haven’t got a kindle – I need to get one as everything seems to come out on kindle now! Still in the stone ages round here 🙂 Let me know how you get on with Black Poppy; it’s well worth a read and the woman who writes it would probably be really good for you to link up with.

        Like

      • You don’t need a kindle to get the book, it can be viewed on any device, computer, smart phone, ipad, iphones, anything, there is a free app from kindle so those who don’t have a kindle can still get it. That’s why I didn’t give kindle exclusive rights which really afftected my sales because if I had they would have marketed it for me but instead I went it alone so everyone has access to the book, my 13 year old son is the one who opened my eyes to that, he said, “Mom if you make it so only people with kindles can get it then the people who really need it won’t get it, we don’t have a kindle and look at where you were last year, you wouldn’t have been able to get it,” so I listed it at the lowest price they would let me and made it so everyone can get it if they have access to the internet, they have access to the book. Let me know what you think, click on the book on amazon and the sample will pop up, if you can read the sample without downloading the kindle app you can read the book. I tried it with all my devices and my phone is the only thing I had to download the app for it.

        Like

      • helnbak permalink

        I will have a look!

        Like

  5. You are truly amazing, what you are doing is so incredible. I am really inspired by what you do, and this book. I wish I could share what you write with the addicts in my life, but they aren’t ready for that yet. I hope one day they will..

    Like

    • We can only hope and pray they find recovery. They are the only ones that can change themselves. Some unfortunately will die from this disease and never find a new way. It is such an awful disease.

      Like

      • Ashley Worley permalink

        I have been going to a methadone clinic for 5 months now I am 4 months clean from heroin why is it that people in NA don’t consider that to be cleanI am really confused and upset i have tried cold turkey I have done suboxone I finally feel like I can be a mother and a wife a friend a daughter nothing else has ever worked for me i am trying to do it the right way by going to meetings following stepsand I finally feel like my life is in control after so many years of being an addict I am just upset about the way people look at suboxin and methadone I am under a doctor’s care and not getting drugs off a street and I am not going to overdose off of methadone I am almost considering not going to any more groups because of this and I think it is pretty sad

        Like

      • helnbak permalink

        I agree. People do not consider the use of anti depressants to constitute drug use, so why medications like methadone and suboxone? There are a lot of misunderstandings and prejudice around this. It is wrong because it is inflicting your own narrow judgements on others and jeopardising them recovering in their way. Do it your way and have the courage to trust your own judgements on what’s best for you. Methadone is a medicine when used properly.

        Like

      • I agree as well, it’s sad but true. Hopefully things will change as we start to stand up and say I’m in MMT and I”m a recovering addict!! I’m clean! and not have to fear the wrath of those who do not understand or are just plain judgmental from their own experiences that have nothing to do with us personally..best of luck to you Ashley!!

        Like

      • I agree and a few of us in my community have begun to start our own support groups, I strongly suggest you do the same, It will grow, let people know at your clinic or groups and find like minded people, get just 3 or 4 of you together and brainstorm, we are planning on doing some community service work by cleaning up garbage off the streets and letting people know, “Hey we’re methadone clients and we’re helping our community, we’re productive members of society, we live, work and raise our kids here too!:

        Like

  6. I also think Ashley, that you may want to consider keeping your MMT treatment to yourself. I have lots of recovering friends who do not disclose their treatment because of the stigma and ignorance. We have a long way to go before they will understand but science and the medical community are catching up quickly. It is well known throughout the science and medical world that addiction is no longer just a psychological problem it is a disease just like cancer, heart disease and diabetes and needs to be treated daily and intensely. But the old timers in the rooms are set in their ways. It worked for them and they think being on methadone is just like using dope. It’s not their fault, they have had experiences with people high at meetings that blame it on methadone when methadone does not get you high when properly dispensed by a nurse at a clinic where we are medically monitored, have counseling and group therapy and where a team of addiction specialists treat us. Many people choose their right to privacy and do not disclose their MMT treatment. I do not disclose except to a select few who know me and they say I”m the only person they’ve ever seen it work for in their years of recovery. I told them no you’ve know lots of successful recovering addicts in MMT they just didn’t tell you. I hate to tell you to keep it too yourself, I would highly suggest trying to find recovery groups that support MMT, check with your clinic and ask around. I think that would be a great way to feel more accepted and comfortable. There are lots of groups out there, do a little homework and find some that fit your needs. Blessed be, good luck

    Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What Little Things Can We Do Each Day On Our Journey Of Recovery? | A Path To Recovery
  2. Discrimination Against Recovering Addicts ~By The Doctors Who Prescribed Them The Drugs In The First Place | A Path To Recovery
  3. A Better Life is now on Facebook | Journey Through Recovery

What are your thoughts?

