Skip to content

The Beauty of Journaling

April 14, 2014

I’m a writer so of course I write in my journal almost daily. Journals can be wonderful tools in recovery and not just addiction recovery but

The pentacle represents the elements; Earth, Air, Water, Fire and the top point represents The Spirit

The pentacle represents the elements; Earth, Air, Water, Fire and the top point represents The Spirit

psychological recovery as well from child hood traumas, anxieties, depression, etc. I find that journaling should be a reflection of feelings, lessons, experiences and not a record of the day. If you describe a trip to the grocery shop, them went and had my hair done and went home made dinner for my family, etc. That’s not really therapeutic. Healing journals would be something along the lines of how you felt about that situation, I felt so overwhelmed and under-appreciated and then so guilty when I stopped and got my hair done. The therapeutic value of recording your feelings to experiences is so helpful when you’re working toward healing yourself. Whomever you are working with a therapist or counselor or sponsor can use these expressive journals to better understand the problem and therefore properly treat.

Another wonderful tool I learned this year from my sponsor when I journal is to write down how the steps and principles of my recovery program are working in my life. This helps me to better see the patterns and areas I need to work on. It was a beautiful idea and incredibly beneficial!

I also use my journal to communicate with my higher power. Being a Wiccan makes it difficult for me in this culture, it’s frowned upon and those who know think I’m going through a phase (a nearly 2 year phase and actually more then that because I’ve also believed in the old religions and dabbled but never fully surrendered to my Goddess and the Earth.) So they feel that everyone goes through it, questioning the existence of “God” and that I will come back to Jesus one day. It used to bother me, a lot. Things are different now, a lot different, I’m much more accepting of people and not so concerned with what they think of me anymore. I am who I am and I am learning to love myself today and my journal has been a wonderful tool in keeping on my journey. ~Blessed Be~

Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

