Skip to content

The War Within: Finding Peace

October 6, 2014

We post quotes, cute pictures with inspiring words and click “like” or repost it on Facebook, I do it all the time. The problem with that is after a few minutes, it’s gone, forgotten. A Take_a_look_in_the_mirror_by_Funeriummoment, just a single moment of a few words inspires some moment of clarity and motivation to change. We who need them know this. Deep down it is going to take a hell of a lot more then a picture of a sunrise with a motivating quote to “fix” us. Some of us are so broken and we get up every day and try. One foot in front of another just surviving. To live another monotonous day. Please don’t misunderstand, it is not my intent to cause pain, hopelessness or discouragement. Quite the opposite actually. You will not find the answers on a Facebook post or in a book. The answers are inside of you, where the demons and darkness that hold you back are. Where the battle must be fought, not ignored, suppressed and buried. Truth, you want truth? Here’s what I look at every morning and every night on an index card;

“If there is peace in your mind, you find peace with everyone. If your mind is agitated then you find agitation everywhere. So first find peace within and you will see this inner peace reflected everywhere else. You are this peace. You are happiness, find out. Where else will you find peace if not within?” ~ Papaji~

I know, another quote. It’s not the quote. This quote spoke to me in ways other ones haven’t. Whatever speaks to your heart, use it. This one hit me and it affected me and it has been helping me face my demons. It may not work for you but you have to find something to keep you moving forward through the depression, the fear and the war within. You won’t find it in a lover, a doctor or priest. You won’t find what you’re looking for anywhere but within yourself. No one else will ever know what you’ve been through or know you as well as you do and even then, you still don’t know everything about yourself. That’s the beauty, there’s always more things to learn about yourself but even though you have to do the leg work here’s the good news. You don’t have to do it alone. Guidance and support comes in many forms and many different people. It may be a friend, a doctor, counselor or a priest but they can’t give you the answers that only you know. They can guide you through it, support you and love you. It’s human nature to need other human relationships, encouraging, supporting, loving relationships to guide you through your journey whether it’s addiction, mental illness or spiritual or all of the above.

There needs to be trust in order to let people in so they can help you on your journey and give you that guidance, love and support that you need. For many of us that’s a huge barrier, trust is not something that comes easy to us. That’s another post for another day. I write how I feel, what I think and what I think I know and I share it. I am not perfect. I do not have the answers and I am happy that I don’t because without goals, the drive to seek knowledge and answers well life would be simply boring! I have found a new spark within myself that is driving me to fight for my life. That’s what this blog is about isn’t it? My journey, the good and the bad. My truths, my feelings, my experiences and I share. I believe it’s why I was saved. I try not to hold back and sometimes it’s not pretty. That’s what sets me apart I think, a real person that someone can relate to that it takes a lot of work and a lot of pain to fight this war. It’s a war we each much fight within ourselves but trying to do it alone only leads us backwards, running to the relief of what we knew and what hasn’t worked for us but we need our comfort zones. If you can stop yourself, play the tape through and do what’s new, uncomfortable and strange. Call a support, tell on yourself and save yourself because you are the only one who can do it. Change is uncomfortable and change is scary but if we embrace it, if we do something different, we start to see that change is not only not that bad but eventually we can see its beauty it just doesn’t happen overnight.

I love posting encouraging words with a bright sunrise in the background or a fabulous quote I come across and they are important to keep us going but the answers are within us, the changes are up to us and within us. It all begins within each and every one of us in all of our unique and different ways. It just takes patience and time. ~Love & Light~

From → My Story, Recovery

3 Comments
  1. Thank you for posting the truth of what so many or should I say ALL of us struggle with….. improvement and facing our illusions.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on club east: indianapolis and commented:
    Amy McCalister, mother of 3 teenagers and published author — oh… and former heroin addict — is someone I want to know better, even if only vicariously through her well-written, thought-provoking blog. Here’s just a brief sample, from a teaching by Papaji, a teacher on the philosophy of self-inquiry:
    Here’s what I look at every morning and every night on an index card;:
    “If there is peace in your mind, you find peace with everyone. If your mind is agitated then you find agitation everywhere. So first find peace within and you will see this inner peace reflected everywhere else. You are this peace. You are happiness, find out. Where else will you find peace if not within?” ~ Papaji~

    I know, another quote. It’s not the quote. This quote spoke to me in ways other ones haven’t. Whatever speaks to your heart, use it. This one hit me and it affected me and it has been helping me face my demons. It may not work for you but you have to find something to keep you moving forward through the depression, the fear and the war within. You won’t find it in a lover, a doctor or priest. You won’t find what you’re looking for anywhere but within yourself. No one else will ever know what you’ve been through or know you as well as you do and even then, you still don’t know everything about yourself. That’s the beauty, there’s always more things to learn about yourself but even though you have to do the leg work here’s the good news. You don’t have to do it alone. Guidance and support comes in many forms and many different people. It may be a friend, a doctor, counselor or a priest but they can’t give you the answers that only you know. They can guide you through it, support you and love you. It’s human nature to need other human relationships, encouraging, supporting, loving relationships to guide you through your journey whether it’s addiction, mental illness or spiritual or all of the above.

    Zowie. There’s so much more where that came from.

    Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. repost: the war within: finding peace | club east: indianapolis

What are your thoughts?

